Happy Monday everyone!  The gallery is Closed today.

Screenings

Tania Libre

Tania Libre film still

Lynn Hershman Leeson, Tania Libre (film still), 2017. 64 min., digital, colour, sound.

Member Price
$10.00
Public Price
$12.00
Student Price
$8.00

Ticketing

Tickets are not available. Please check back shortly.

Screenings

Tania Libre

Wednesday June 14 & Friday June 16

2017 1h 4 min.
Directed by Lynn Hershman Leeson

Cuban artist Tania Bruguera was arrested and accused of treason in January 2015 after she attempted to organise a performance in Havana’s Plaza de la Revolution. Cuban authorities confiscated her passport and charged her with incitement of public disorder, resistance of police and incitement to commit a crime. She was released the same month but only had her passport returned after seven months later. Since then, she has been detained by Cuban authorities on numerous occasions. In this film by Lynn Hershman Leeson, Bruguera consults Dr Frank Ochberg, a New York-based psychiatrist and trauma specialist with expertise in post-traumatic stress disorder and Stockholm Syndrome. During her conversations with her therapist she analyses the revolutionary potential of art and the effects of censorship on her work. 

This is an Accessible Event. Learn More

SIMILAR EVENTS

Screenings
Wednesday October 11 and Friday October 13
Screenings
Wednesday October 25 and Friday October 27
Screenings
Wednesday November 1 and Friday November 3
Screenings
Wednesday November 15 and Friday November 17
Be the first to find out about AGO exhibitions and events, get the behind-the-scenes scoop and book tickets before it’s too late.
You can unsubscribe at any time.